My Spiritual Writing Cleanse Days 12: Being Real

I’m going to be straight up right now. I was way distracted last week. I barely re-wrote anything. Earlier today as I sat down wanting to continue where I left off, I had to get real and go back to where I left off and that’s Day 12, where I was supposed to re-write pages 30-45. I got to thinking, that it’s better to go back there because every day Viki King has something to say about re-writing, some tips and I don’t want to shove all those tips together amongst the span of a few days, man.

I want to share that stuff, actual growth.

In a script, between pages 30-45, a character is going through initial growth. King says that you as an author may be going through similar things, like not wanting to change or grow and it hurts with every step that is taken. I can honestly say I feel this.

Re-writing is challenging for me. So much so that I distracted myself so much last week that I didn’t re-write more than 16 pages. I didn’t allow myself to grow with the script. Instead, I did other things that weren’t at all according to my plan and somehow the week came and went. It’s Monday. I’m still in the process of re-writing my pages 30-45. This blog helps keep me honest, faithful somehow. The only thing that feels good is being honest to myself and to my work. That’s the real growth for me as a creator/person right there. I need honesty in my life and that starts with me.

Leave a Reply

