My spiritual writing cleanse, Days 7-9: First Draft “Done-so”

So yesterday I finished the first draft of my script. As a buddy of mine would say, it’s “Done-so,” maybe pronounced DUNZO. lol. I know. Dorky. But it’s nice to say, “Done-so” when something is done. It feels good. Try it.

Today I read the script with a friend and it’s not half bad. Yes, it’s a baby zygote, fetus, the beginning of a creative pregnancy. Yes, it needs work, but after a week of writing a 120-page screenplay straight from your heart, you cannot judge. Viki King actually says not to judge your work. She says not to ask if it’s good or bad. You are just supposed to ask these questions:

Does this scene work?

What did I want to show here?

Can I show it another way more effectively?

Is the story that I wanted to tell the story I told?

Is it true to my original feeling?

Did you know what it was about?

Could you identify with the characters?

Was this movie about what you thought it was about?

These are good questions to ask.  I am going to change my mentality about re-writing. In my past, I’ve found re-writing to be one of the most challenging parts of writing, but I will look at it with a positive, open mind and embrace every uncomfortable, nail-biting urge. I kinda have to stay positive and feel good about what I’ve created. My fourth screenplay baby is on its way to being born.

Leave a Reply

