My Writing spiritual cleanse Days 2-4: Catch up

Having a deadline is working well for me. I’ve noticed that I have my project on my mind a great majority of the day and it forces me to carve out time for the work even if there are other demands/distractions.

Over the past 3 days, I’ve had to flake on a few friends in order to work on my writing. I was talking to my best friend about this and he reminded me of something Kobe Bryant said about how in order to be great and the best, you have to make sacrifices at the expense of friends, family, and any other obligations. In the end, I felt good knowing I carved out time for myself and my work because at the end of the day, I will be a happier person for putting myself first.

Today I had a nice revelation. I planted strawberries, spinach, and tomatoes in our garden. I hadn’t really been tending to the weeds so much lately, so I had to clear them out and put some miracle grow and enriched soil before I put in the new stuff. Totally symbolic for exactly what’s going on in my life right now. Sometimes you really need to enrich your own soil before you plant anything new. If nothing is growing there, then it gives weeds a chance to flourish and overpower your life. Nobody wants that. I’m planting new stuff right now and getting rid of old thoughts, people, and learned habits. Planting new things in good soil is exactly what I need right now.

Okay, as far as the actual writing goes, I’m playing catch up. I had to work all day yesterday so by the time I got home, I was fried, so I didn’t actually write anything. I am playing catch up today and carving out my time.

I find that during this cleanse I am not thinking so much when I write and when I think too much, I actually stop, so it’s best not to think. Just do.

 

Leave a Reply

