Hanging onto the past, bites you in the ass

There are so many people that hold grudges, thinking they are doing some justice, teaching a person a lesson, but all it really does it hold us back from achieving our full potential and it only develops disease in our minds and bodies. 

I come from a family that holds grudges. I remember certain people in the family hold grudges for 10+ years towards a person and it’s ridiculous because when you ask what the grudge is about, they don’t even remember! They are just like, I know we were mad at each other for something.

You really end up holding the grudge against yourself because holding onto any unresolved conflict, creates havoc within the body and therefore diseases develop.

I wouldn’t think like this had I not discovered Louise Hay and her book, “Heal your body: the mental causes for physical illness and the metaphysical way to overcome them.”

This book is revolutionary!

If there is anything going on with my body, I immediately look at this book and see if the cause is true. The book has not been wrong. What’s cool about it is that there are affirmations you can start saying to overcome the physical issue. This way of thinking has taught me that there is no physical issue that appears out of nowhere. The thinking brought it on.

For example, I’ll never forget this one time I was in the car with a girlfriend. I was driving and she was going off complaining about some women in her life. I wanted to be a good friend and listen so that’s what I did, but when I got home I noticed my right ear was hurting so much. I thought I was getting an earache, so I looked in the book and looked up, “earache.” Of course it was listed and the cause was “Not wanting to hear. Too much turmoil. Parents arguing.” It hit me. I was driving so my right ear was facing my girlfriend and her crap talk. I really didn’t want to hear her. And when my younger brother was little he had ear aches ALL THE TIME when my parents were going through their divorce and they were always fighting.

Crazy, right?

But that’s just one example.

If it’s something that can’t be fixed quickly like being overweight (having the need for protection) or having acne (anger), I find putting affirmations as reminders on my cell phone reminds me that I’m trying to adopt a new changing attitude.

I was just thinking about this today because since I have family that loves to hold grudges, it’s no secret that those family members have had cancer (deep hurt, longstanding resentment) and heart attacks (Long standing emotional problems, hardening of the heart).

I have learned that it’s very important to forgive, let go, and show love to every single person. If you don’t, you’re the only one who suffers.

I really recommend the Louise Hay book. It has changed the way I look at any physical problem. I always refer to the book now and give thanks to my body because it will never lie to me.

One thought on “Hanging onto the past, bites you in the ass

Leave a Reply

