Spanish Quinoa “Rice” with Mushrooms

I accidentally made healthy Spanish “rice” this week by experimenting with a can of tomato sauce I had on hand. Something cool always happens when I use what I have in my refrigerator and follow my instincts rather than a recipe.

So the other day I wanted to make some quinoa risotto. I use this method of cooking mushrooms, onions, and garlic in coconut oil for a few minutes, then adding sage, thyme, and 1/2 cup of white wine. This really gives the mushrooms and onions a great flavor. So then what you do is add your quinoa, let it toast, and then add your vegetable broth. But what I did this time, was add tomato sauce. It took longer to cook until I covered the pan with a lid. Duh! Once I did that, the steam went to work and cooked the quinoa fully.

I added some salt and pepper and it was golden. As I tasted the quinoa, I realized that I’d basically used all the ingredients to make Spanish rice but used Quinoa instead of white or brown rice.
This was really exciting for me since I LOVE Spanish Rice but you may not always want to be eating starchy, high carb foods like rice, so the Quinoa gives a lighter touch on the recipe, with almost the same consistency.

I would’ve put up a picture but that stuff didn’t last long. It’s exciting to make Mexican food healthy because I’m Mexican and I know how fattening the food can be. My friend’s grandma makes the best Spanish rice and even though the rice turns orange, it was once just plain old white rice a.k.a sugar. Quinoa is a great replacement for white rice (sugar) since it’s high in protein and provides a similar consistency to rice.

Here’s my recipe:

1 tbs sage
1 tbs thyme
1/2 cup white wine
1 cup chopped mushrooms
1 onion chopped
3-6 garlic cloves (however you like it, for me the more the better)
1 cup quinoa
vegetable broth
1 can tomato sauce
salt and pepper to taste

Sautee mushrooms, onions, and garlic. Add white wine, sage, and thyme and cook until white wine disappears. Add vegetable broth and tomato sauce, cover and cook for about 20-25 minutes. Fluff with fork. Add salt and pepper to taste.

One thought on “Spanish Quinoa “Rice” with Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

