A Course in Miracles Lesson 25

“I do not know what anything is for.”

This lesson couldn’t have come at a better time. My routine has been waking up and checking out the daily calendar lesson on www.acim.org. Sometimes I get it, sometimes I don’t, and I just try to maintain focus on the overall task at hand, which is releasing anything that stands in the way of getting what I want.

And this lesson blew me away a bit, but I like it. It literally says, “I do not know what anything is for.”

Half of the time I read these lessons, I’m like, “huh?”

Then I read, “You perceive the world and everything in it as meaningful in terms of ego goals. These goals have nothing to do with your own best interests, because the ego is not you.”

So I thought, okay, what I want is maybe not in my best interest, so I have to withdraw the goals I assigned to the world and go with the lesson for today, “I do not know what anything is for.”

This lesson says that you have to give up your goals and recognize that they are meaningless, because what you want may not be in your best interest.

I can understand that. I have a LOT of goals. I am generally goal-oriented, believing that I always have to have my eyes on the prize, something to shoot for, because otherwise life just feels like I’m floating. But maybe I need to float, maybe I need things to be random, spontaneous, or something and let the universe take over. I have to work on being okay with that.

Leave a Reply

