A Giada dinner

I love Giada de Laurentis because she’s one of the only cooks featured on the Food Network who prepares healthy dishes, in addition to her Italian specialties. So she has a new cookbook that came out called “Giada’s Feel Good Food.” Many of the dishes have weird food combinations, like an omelet with strawberries in it! I’m sorry but that’s a recipe for fermentation if I ever heard of one, although there are some real gems in this cookbook, like the “Soba Noodle Salad” I made tonight. I am very pleased with the results.

This dish only involves cooking the soba noodles. The rest of the ingredients include fresh shredded cabbage, sliced red peppers, scallions, cucumber, slivered almonds, and sesame seeds. The dressing is very tasty with ingredients such as soy sauce, sesame oil, fresh ginger, olive oil, honey, wasabi paste, and a whole 1/4 cup of fresh lime juice.

Amazing, light, savory, satisfying. This is a great salad.

I also love her desserts, so I found a good recipe for “Chocolate muffins.” Simple enough but it’s nearly vegan, except that it asked for two eggs. Eeee. I find that I get more of a stomach reaction from consuming milk rather than eggs, so I thought I could make an exception this time, for this recipe. When I was baking over Christmas, I used a vegan egg replacement using chia seeds that didn’t come out so well. I thought, well, I can make this recipe one time by the book, and give it a shot another time with the vegan egg replacement and see how it goes. This recipe asked for brown rice flour! I was very excited to buy and use this since I’ve never used it before. Instead of using butter or milk, you use safflower oil and applesauce and maple syrup instead of sugar. I also used vegan chocolate chips because I was breaking out by eating regular chocolate chips that of course include more than just chocolate or cocoa.

So I had a Giada dinner and dessert and I’ve very happy with how everything came out. I look forward to trying more of the recipes from her new book.

Leave a Reply

