A Course in Miracles Lesson 16

Today’s lesson from the Course is “I have no neutral thoughts.” It said that every thought you have contributes to truth or illusion; either it extends truth or multiplies illusion.

This made me think of the other day when I walked away from a verbal sparring I’d allowed myself to take part in with a family member. I don’t know about you but I think we fight with our family members more than others because we know they will love you no matter what. But that doesn’t give anyone the right to disrespect you. So our conversation went sour when my family member started saying some funky stuff. I walked away because you know, who wants to fight? I went to yoga and when I came back, my family member was like, “I’m sorry for the things I said. I don’t know how to talk to people.

The reason I bring this up is because of the lesson for today: “I have no neutral thoughts.” This lesson says that thoughts are not big or little; powerful or weak. They are merely true or false. Those that are true create their own likeness. Those that are false make theirs. I’m still trying to wrap my head around that.

All I can conclude is that truth is love and illusion is fear. When we fight, we fill ourselves to the brim with fear and the illusion of a nasty hateful reality is created. I walked away from the conversation because I didn’t find my family member’s words to be true. How could it be true that three and a half years of Bikram Yoga practice were meaningless and haven’t helped me develop as a more rational and calm human being? I know what she said was silly, false, an illusion. I recognized it right away and I thought, I know what my truth is, so it’s time for me to walk away from this illusion. It’s not real.

I knew at that moment, that my family member was operating from a nasty place that wasn’t God-like, supportive, or even remotely true, which is why when I returned two hours later she immediately apologized for her words and admitted she didn’t know how to talk to people.

Really, if we stop and control our emotions, we know the true way for us to treat each other is with kindness and love. We aren’t meant to be nasty with each other. This person loves to fight because she grew up fighting for her life. I get it. I engaged with her because I knew she needed to talk, but in the process, the conversation got nasty because I guess I just don’t know how to listen to people complain. I didn’t want to hear her complain about others. Life is too freaking short for that! Ever since my uncle passed, I almost have no tolerance for lovelessness, for complaining, resentment. Let’s just love each other and speak the truth to who we need to speak it to!

So today’s lesson, “I have no neutral thoughts,” says that every thought we think is either a truth or illusion, a love thought or a fear thought. It’s really cool doing the exercises for this exercises because you get to be objective with yourself and just let yourself think and realize that every thought you have is not neutral, it has a point of view, negative or positive. But you can at least recognize it as the first step.

The exercise involves just spending a minute or so with your eyes closed, allowing yourself to think whatever it is you think, and just say “this thought about___is not a neutral thought, because I have no neutral thoughts.” It’s nice because if you have a nasty thought, you recognize it and I’m hoping the lessons that follow in the Course will teach to think more positively.

Leave a Reply

