Raw Chocolate-Chia Energy Bars

SDC11728 I have to create every single day, especially during the Fall season when I get really lazy because it’s darker and colder. I really have to work on being active, creating, and keeping my endorphins and energy up.

So the other day I was at work and I was feeling the itch to cook something using the pistachios I just bought from Fresh and Easy because they were a bonus point item. I found this recipe on a website that I can’t even remember the name of. I wrote it down on a scrap paper and I now want to throw the scrap paper away because I was in a cleaning mode today and I already have too many scrap papers.

Anyway, I made the “Raw Chocolate-Chia Energy Bars” and was very pleased. I love that they have chia in them because the chia has helped me poop good. I also really love this recipe because it utilized wax paper to help bind together the raw dough. This task can be hard because you usually have to press raw dough mixtures together with your hands and you may end up losing the mixture when it sticks to your hands or utensils. This recipe was brilliant because it asked you to throw the dough right onto a flour dusted parchment paper and form it into a square using the sides of the parchment paper. You just stick it in the refrigerator like that and it stays together well. It’s not messy and it really helps.

So here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:
1.5 cups pitted dates
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder ( I used Carob)
1/3 cup chia seeds
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp almond extract (optional but it adds nice flavor profile)
1 cup raw almonds or raw shelled pistachios

1) Place dates in food processor. Puree until thick paste forms. Add cocoa powder, chia seeds and vanilla and almond extracts. Pulse until all ingredients are well combined. Add nuts, pulse until finely chopped and well distributed through date mixture.

2) Spread large sheet of wax paper on work surface and dust with oat flour (or whatever flour you have). Transfer date mixture to wax paper and use paper to press mixture into 1/2 inch thick rectangle. Wrap tightly and chill overnight.

3) Unwrap block and cut into eight bars. Dust edges and sides with flour to prevent sticking. Wrap each bar in wax paper, or don’t and just place in a container that stays refrigerated.

Okay, that’s the recipe. It’s tasty, light, and so good looking if you use pistachios. The green hints of pistachio are so pretty.

Leave a Reply

