Vegan Pumpkin Pie

SDC11703Halloween is over and there many old pumpkins that are just begging to be put out of their misery.

I found a great easy recipe for vegan pumpkin pie from a website called Detoxinista.com

This recipe only includes four ingredients and is just as tasty if not more so than traditional pumpkin pie.

The only preparation that takes some time is soaking your almonds for at least four hours. If you are even thinking about making this, just get some almonds and soak them right away. Then, all you have to do is drain them, add in the remaining three ingredients into a strong blender and put the mixture into a baking tin coated with coconut oil and bake it. That’s it. This is one of the easiest desserts I’ve ever made that is on par with the traditional pumpkin pie recipe.

I didn’t make my pie with a crust which many weight conscious people would appreciate, but if you were to put this mixture into a pie including a crust, people probably wouldn’t be able to tell it was vegan.

I’m not planning to go home for Thanksgiving but I will be going for Christmas so I think I’m going to bake this up for my grandma who loves pumpkin pie and not tell her its vegan.

Anyway, for this recipe you need:

16 ounces (2 cups) pumpkin puree

1 cup maple syrup

2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 cup almonds soaked for at least 4 hours ( I was shocked by how plump the almonds became after soaking. After they soaked, it was like I had two cups of almonds instead of one. Just go with it. I think the recipe was intended to soak the almonds in order to get twice the amount to include in the mixture. I’m assuming)

SDC11716

3 thoughts on “Vegan Pumpkin Pie

Leave a Reply

