Bucket List Item-Learn Michael Jackson’s “Thriller”

Michael Jackson's Thriller jacket
Michael Jackson’s Thriller jacket (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There was this manifestation book I read earlier this year that suggested making a list of 49 things you wanted to accomplish within a year, 30 things you wanted to accomplish in 5 years, 20 things within 10 years, and 10 things within 30 years and so on, until it basically made you narrow down three things you wanted to do in a lifetime. That was a very powerful thing for me to understand. I had wanted to do a lot of things, but it really made me see which goals I had that were tangents and which were leading me towards what I really wanted to accomplish with my life.

When I made that list of things I wanted to accomplish within a year, I didn’t look at it like a bucket list at the time, but in a way it kind of was and is, similar to making New Year’s resolutions. One year I had a very silly yet serious New Year’s resolution and that was to learn to dance to Michael Jackson’s “Thriller.”

I started learning the dance around a month ago and yesterday I participated in an event called “Thrill the World,” with nearly 200 people at the Arizona state fair. This is a one day event that takes place every year around Halloween time where people from all over the world dance to “Thriller” at the same time in order to break a Guinness World Record, raise money for local charities, and just have fun dancing. On www.thrilltheworld.com, you will find instructional videos that break down the dance and make it pretty easy to learn.

I started learning the dance around a month ago and yesterday I danced with nearly 200 people at the Arizona state fair.

Mom and I in full zombie mode!
Mom and I in full zombie mode!

It was one of the most fun things I’ve ever done. I also learned how to do zombie makeup from some youtube tutorials. Super cool. Just wanted to share another creation method that has assisted in my growth and healing. Dancing is fun and a great release of energy. And I don’t care what people say, I love Michael Jackson. He was a person who had enough money and power to make change and that was threatening. Sure, he seemed weird, but that’s because he had a stolen childhood due to fame. All he wanted was peace. That’s what most of us want.

One thought on “Bucket List Item-Learn Michael Jackson’s “Thriller”

Leave a Reply

