First Batch of Kombucha

SDC11713Over the past three weeks I’ve been brewing my own Kombucha. I tried to grow my own SCOBY from a GT’s bottle of original Kombucha about a month ago, but it didn’t work. I told myself that I would try to brew it that way and if it didn’t work then I would buy a SCOBY. So I bought this medium sized SCOBY  on Amazon for around $10. It came in a little package with some starter liquid and detailed directions. I was so grateful to have directions because it really helped to ease my mind and keep me focused so I didn’t feel so out in the dark. One thing the directions said was that once you have the mixture in the jar, you have to put it in a dark place where it won’t be disturbed. I heard different things about where you are to put your Kombucha while it was cultivating, but these directions that I essentially paid to get, said to put it in the dark, undisturbed.

So that’s what I did and it had just been sitting in my closet for three weeks until a few days ago, when I removed the cloth and rubber band to have a taste of it. To my surprise I found a freshly grown SCOBY at the top. It was beautiful, thick, and white. I was so happy, like a proud mother. It was so strong and clean, just the way I’d seen so many successful SCOBY offspring look in pictures and in video.

I think its an awesome thing to make your own Kombucha because it’s expensive per bottle. I used to think it was worth the price because of the health benefits and it is, but isn’t it so much more gratifying to make something all on your own? It feels good to create something from nothing essentially and keep it alive, like a baby.

There’s just something about making Kombucha that fills me with life and wonder. I think it’s amazing that a new baby SCOBY grows every time you brew a new batch of Kombucha. That’s beautiful. You feed the Kombucha to keep it alive and it keeps you alive.

So I bottled my first batch of Kombucha last night. My instructions say to let the Kombucha go through a second fermentation process which involves leaving the bottled Kombucha out at room temperature for 5-7 days before refrigerating and consuming. It is said during this time that the sharp acidity mellows and the liquid becomes naturally carbonated. Can’t wait. We’ll see how the first brew tastes in a few days.

 

Leave a Reply

