Lentil Salad staple

Lentil Salad
Lentil Salad
I’ve been compelled to cook lately and one of the vegetarian staples I love to make the most is lentils. I usually make lentil soup but since it’s still summer and I’m in Arizona hell heat, I thought I would research how to make a lentil salad.
I created a hybrid recipe inspired by “The Art of Simple Food” by Alice Waters, with ingredients I had on hand that I thought would be cool to add. And it came out scrumptious so I thought I would share.

Ingredients:
lentils (any color but I used green) (1 cup)
sea salt (to taste)
pepper (to taste)

red wine vinegar (3 tbs)
stone ground mustard or dijon (1 tbs)
shallots (3 whole, diced)
carrots (two, diced)
celery (3 diced)
garlic (3 minced, to taste)
coconut oil (1 tsp)
parsley (1 1/2 bunch)
green onion (1/4 cup, sliced)
olive oil (3 tbs)

How to:

Cook your lentils with sea salt to taste. Drain the liquid and let it cool. While the lentils are cooking, you want to heat your coconut oil in a skillet then add your shallots, garlic, carrots, and celery, until your veggies are softened slightly. Let that cool.

Chop up your parsley and green onions and place in a large bowl. Add your lentils and softened cooked veggies. Add the red wine vinegar, stone ground mustard, olive oil, and sea salt and pepper to taste. Toss to combine and there you have it.

Ughh (sigh of love, joy and excitement). It’s so easy, simple, healthy, tasty, satisfying, and good looking. This is a great recipe to pack up and take to work for lunch or wherever you go and need a good meal to keep you going and it’s awesome because you can basically eat it everywhere since it travels well. Yay lentils! Go Lentils!

One thought on “Lentil Salad staple

Leave a Reply

