Kombucha love story

I went to UC Santa Cruz for my undergraduate study and if you know Santa Cruz, California, you know that this is a hub of hippies, greenery, and organic health foods. I was in my early twenties, on my own, exploring all sorts of new things, but just by being in Santa Cruz, exploring health foods was the easiest thing next to breathing.

It was in the New Leaf Community market that I bought my first GT’s Raw Kombucha. I was in the market to try new things and since I was looking for foods and drinks to boost my immune system, I stumbled upon this really expensive drink that I figured had to be good since it was nearly $4 a bottle. I walked home, sat down at my desk, and popped open the drink. I had no expectations whatsoever, but I didn’t expect that what I put down my throat would taste rotten to me! I tried really hard to take a few more sips but the vinegary consistency was just too strong. It felt like I was drinking a shot of alcohol because the drink immediately burned my stomach. Something HAD to be wrong with this drink. For an hour, I glanced at the bottle on my desk in between internet surfing. I decided to take one more sip. Nope. Disgusted, I threw it away.

It would be a few years later that I would fall madly in love with Kombucha, but not until I was surrounded by it at my Bikram Yoga studio where I worked as a “Karma Yogi.” Karma Yogis work at yoga studios in order to take free classes so I worked behind the desk, and at our studio we sold Kombucha and Coconut water. At first I would cringe when I would look at the Kombucha and I was so puzzled why so many people bought this drink and gulped it down like water. I didn’t get it. It was one day after I came out of class and was really thirsty that a friend recommended I try the Kombucha. There were no more coconut waters so I thought I would just try a flavored Kombucha. Honestly, I can’t remember which flavored Kombucha I tried but that initial vinegar taste wasn’t so overwhelming. I actually really enjoyed it this time. Maybe it was because I was thirsty or maybe my taste buds had evolved, but here I was, six years later, loving Kombucha.

Which brings me to the next level of Kombucha adoration. Yes, it’s time for me to make a baby, a SCOBY that is. For the past few days, I’ve been scouring the internet watching video after video on how to grow a SCOBY. It just seems so easy to do. And I drink so much of it nowadays that it seems like the next step to take. I mean, you love something so much, you just have to create it yourself. That’s why people make babies, right?

So today I bought a bottle of GT’s Original flavored Kombucha and I’m going through the motions of making my very first Kombucha SCOBY. And if it doesn’t work, I’ll just buy my own SCOBY starter. I thought I would try to make my own first and see how it comes out. There’s something about creating from scratch that is way more gratifying than buying it.
Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “Kombucha love story

Leave a Reply

