Day 16 of 21

I got home today and felt really really hungry. I saw this baguette on the table that looked so tempting but then I went to touch it, and it was so hard like one of those display food items at Sur La Table or Williams Sonoma. It was funny and reminded me that processed food items look better than they actually are good for you.

Today I listened to Louise Hay’s audio tape, “you can heal your life” and she said that her nutrition philosophy is “if it grows, I eat it. If it doesn’t, I don’t,” or something along those lines. She is a woman who overcame cancer with holistic nutrition and positive affirmations. Honestly, she is one of my biggest inspirations for even creating a blog dedicated to health in the first place. Her existence has shown me that you can really heal your life by changing your mind set and releasing your need for negative thoughts, foods, people, etc. It just starts in the mind. I’ve already learned so much from her and changed aspects in my life due to her teachings.

Lately since I’ve been partaking in this cleanse journey, I feel myself releasing the need to hang onto excess weight and I don’t feel like eating bad stuff as much. It doesn’t serve my purpose as a human being on this earth. I find that exercising and feeling what it feels like to be in my body, just existing, is very grounding.  Eating bad food makes me feel heavy and weighed down but not in the grounded way I need to be in. Exercising definitely helps me be more grounded and in my body as opposed to feeling heavy to be grounded. I know that I like chewing certain foods because I had an oral fixation for years and eating stuff just made me feel better temporarily but that’s it and I now release the need for that behavior.

Anyway! All tangents aside, today is Day 16 and I’m so excited to make the celery almond pate tonight for dinner. I’ve been looking forward to this meal for weeks.

The celery almond pate consists of:

1.5 cups celery chopped, 1/2 tbs fresh grated ginger, 1/2 tsp fresh minced garlic, 1/4 cup raisins, 1 tbs miso, 1/2 cup almond meal, 1 tsp fresh herbs of your choice (dill, tarragon, oregano)

You just put the celery, ginger, raisins, and miso in the food processor and process into small pieces, then add the almond meal and pulse, then finally add the herbs.

Eat this as a dip or put inside of a lettuce, nori wrap, or collard green.

Yup. A total winner. Give it a try.

Leave a Reply

