Day 11 of 21

Alright! 10 more days to go and this cleanse will be complete. Today involved eating a Ginger Mango Shake for breakfast and as a snack. When I was at work I had the Spring Sauerkraut Salad with Thermo Dressing. Seriously, the Thermo Dressing is one of the best dressings I’ve ever had. When put over any bed of greens, it provides a superb flavor that totally eliminates any cravings one may have for junk food. Seriously, every time I eat this dressing over a salad, I forget completely about what I craved before. I become completely satiated physically and mentally. The thermo dressing is listed in Ani Phyo’s book “15 day fat blast” and it includes miso, raw soy sauce, ginger, olive oil, and apple cider vinegar. It’s so refreshing and fulfilling, and full of nutrients. I am so proud to say that I finally bought Braggs Liquid Aminos raw soy sauce alternative. I used to buy the regular reduced sodium Kikoman brand and thought it was okay but really the Braggs has such a mild flavor and still has the taste of soy sauce without the head rush of sodium.

My uncle who was really into health food used to cook with raw soy sauce and I never knew it. Braggs totally reminds me of him and the dishes he used to make, like this one really good dish which consisted of brown rice with tofu, zucchini, and broccoli that he would simmer with raw soy sauce and garlic. Omg, this was one of the best things I’ve ever tasted. My uncle is HIV positive and has been so for over twenty years. He was probably my biggest inspiration growing up in regards to health food. He always seemed so strong to me since he used to do so much for his health like work out fiercely and meditate daily as well as make juices and smoothies, and put veggies in everything. I remember as a kid being weirded out that he would put broccoli in all our food, even ramen. I didn’t get it then but I do now. Today, he doesn’t really eat like that anymore because I guess he’s going through some things mentally but I’ll never forget the way he inspired me growing up. I would love to include a bio about him in my inspirational people section. He really is an inspiration and would inspire anyone so they can see that eating the right food, meditating, and exercising really can keep you alive and healthier more so than medicine will keep you alive.

All tangents aside, I’m having the Red Pepper raw soup tonight. If you are interested in the recipes in the book “Ani’s 15-day fat blast,” by Ani Phyo, I can list them as I go on, or you can check out the book, which is so worth the buy. It makes eating raw so much easier and not such a foreign concept for hippies and eco vegans, since many of the recipes only include a few simple ingredients. The book utilizes staples like coconut oil, miso paste, and a variety of common fruits and veggies that you can find anywhere.

Day 11 is nearly over and I’m stoked about it. My uncle inspires me to go on even if he doesn’t eat this way anymore. There is always some inspiring person who leads the way and the rest of us will carry on the torch.

Leave a Reply

